Simmering (a novella-in-prose-poems)

Release Date: 2022

Publisher: Otoliths (Australia)

Order through Otolith’s Online Store

Price: US$9.95

Pages: 36

Book Description:
Simmering is comprised of 25 prose poems carved out of Eileen R. Tabios’ novel-in-progress, COLLATERAL DAMAGE: A Literature With No Minor Characters. While each poem was written individually and joined randomly with the others, together they create a novella as a narrative surfaces through the rub of language. Each of the prose poems also was written in response to opening lines from some of the greatest English-language novels as written by Jane Austen, Charles Dickens, William Faulkner, George Orwell, Vladimir Nabokov, Alice Walker, Albert Camus, Zora Neale Hurston, Ray Bradbury, Edith Wharton, Raphael Sabatini, Margaret Atwood, Graham Greene, Anne Tyler, William Gibson, Jeffrey Eugenides, Gertrude Stein, Ralph Ellison, William Gaddis, Gilbert Sorrentino, Carson McCullers, G.K. Chesterton, and Laurence Sterne.


Simmering is one of Eileen R. Tabios’ best books. I don’t care that it’s around 30 pages; it’s a book, not a chapbook. It’s a book of poetry, not fiction—prose poetry. The meditations on fate and time and the comings and goings of numerous motifs make it one of the most interesting and relevant books of poetry I have read in the past ten years.”

—Thomas Fink, poet-painter, scholar, critic and editor